Sunday, 20 September 2009

Regional League South Division

Regional League South Division is the 3rd Level League in Thailand. It was formed in 2009 along with other four other regional leagues, all playing at the same level. The winner of each regional league enter the Regional League Championships to determine the three teams that will receive promotion to the Thai Division 1 League

League History

Formed in 2009, initally 9 clubs applied to be part of the new setup; Krabi, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phattalung, Phuket, Satun, Yala and Tartauo. Come decision day, Tartauo either failed to apply on time, or were not accepted into the new setup.

Narathiwat and Satun were the only two teams with previous experience in the Thai football league system.

Narathiwat won the first ever championship and took the Regional League championship allocation, winning the division on goal difference from Satun.


2009: 1st ever Regional League South starts.
2009: 1 club (Phuket) enters the FA Cup
2009: 8 Clubs enter first ever championship

Championship History

Season 2009:

1st: Narathiwat
2nd: Satun
3rd: Nakhon Si Thammarat

More can be found in the new article i've created:

No comments: