Saturday, 11 July 2009

We're going to India - Nehru Cup time!

The AIFF today announced the names of the six participating national teams in this years "ONGC" Nehru Cup.

The participating sides will be all Asian - Syria, Lebanon, Thailand, Kyrgyzstan, Sri Lanka and besides hosts India.The 14th edition of the "ONGC" Nehru Cup will be played from August 18 to 30 at the Dr. Ambedkar Stadium in Delhi.The six teams will be divided in two groups of three teams each. The winners and runners-up from each group will qualify for the semifinals.India are the defending champions having defeated Syria 1-0 in the finals on August 29, 2007 in Delhi. But this years tournament will be tougher for the hosts and a good test for Bob Houghton to judge the progress of his team.

I fully expect that this will be an Under 23 Thai side preparing for the SEA Games

No comments: